Members Login
Username 
 
Password 
    Remember Me  
Post Info TOPIC: Another 'The Frozen Ground' - Review


NIColicious Enchantress

Status: Offline
Posts: 5669
Date: 6:01 PM, 07/15/13
Another 'The Frozen Ground' - Review
Permalink  
 


http://www.thehollywoodnews.com/2013/07/15/the-frozen-ground-review/



__________________

"When you think about magic, it is imagination plus willpower focused in such a way that you can create a conscious effect in the material world..."

Nicolas Cage




Nicalicious

Status: Offline
Posts: 6722
Date: 4:32 AM, 07/18/13
Another 'The Frozen Ground' - Review
Permalink  
 


Very nice, that is a review that makes me want to see it even more. Thanks for the link, Lady R!

********************

 

 Quad Frozen Ground poster small e1373706922400 The Frozen Ground Review

Director: Scott Walker.

Starring: Nicolas Cage, John Cusack, Vanessa Hudgens.

Running Time: 105 minutes.

Certificate: 15.

Synopsis: An Alaska state trooper partners with a young woman who escaped the clutches of serial killer Robert Hansen (John Cusack) to bring the murderer to justice. Based on actual events.

THE FROZEN GROUND is constructed from true events and these type of thrillers can occasionally slip away into the dramatised side of reality. However, Scott Walker’s writing and directing debut feature stays on the right side of the story as the film explores both sides captivatingly.

It’s been up and down recently for Nic Cage and John Cusack, with neither quite hitting the heights that they’ve done easily in the past. In THE FROZEN GROUND they both return to form as Cage excels in the detective role of Jack Holcombe and John Cusack as silent, calculating killer Robert Hansen.

Set in 1983, we’re introduced to both lead characters in their different lives. First up is Jack Holcombe, a state trooper who sees a pattern in various murders of prostitutes in Anchorage, Alaska and so takes on a personal manhunt to find the killer. When Cindy Paulson (Vanessa Hudgens) turns up and says she’s just escaped from a lunatic, the local police don’t believe her, but Holcombe finds something in her story that might just give them a clue to why these girls have been disappearing.

So now, they’re on the pursuit of family-man and serial killer Robert Hansen – and before you worry, this role isn’t a twist or a big spoiler. The audience are given this reveal very early on as we see Hansen with a chained-up girl in his house and an array of dead animals on his wall. He’s definitely a hunter, but of young girls as well as animals. From there, our investigation into the murky world of Hansen begins and sets off a chain of events that tests every character’s resolve to the very limit.

Overall, it’s encouraging to see Nic Cage get back to basics and put on a performance of unerring commitment and conviction. John Cusack is cold and focused in his deathly role and you’ll get to see changes in character as the film progresses, with his underlying anger concentrated and unsettling. There’s also a notable mention for co-star Vanessa Hudgens, a vital part to proceedings. Last seen in SPRING BREAKERS, she once again effortlessly proves that her talent is beyond the world of Disney. Her messed-up, on the run prostitute really delves into the sordid world of drug and sex addiction with no holds barred.

Walker’s debut feature is filmed with a gritty reality and an essence of Christopher Nolan’s INSOMNIA. The bleak emptiness that the film portrays in a quite literal expanse can be somewhat unnerving but it’s achieved impressively. For some, the progression of narrative might be reasonably standard, but THE FROZEN GROUND is an intense, intelligent and tenacious affair.

Four Out Of Five Stars8 The Frozen Ground Review THE FROZEN GROUND is released in the UK on July 19th.



-- Edited by Lady Trueheart on Thursday 18th of July 2013 04:50:29 AM

__________________

Nicolas Cage is my Shaman!
 





NIColicious Enchantress

Status: Offline
Posts: 5669
Date: 7:35 PM, 07/18/13
RE: Another 'The Frozen Ground' - Review
Permalink  
 


Indeed! Me, too, Lady T.! But, it seems as if they won`t show it in theaters here in Germany, so I have to wait for the dvd-release, which is, hopefully, on 1 October here as well!

Here are two more reviews:

http://www.heyuguys.co.uk/the-frozen-ground-review/

http://www.flickeringmyth.com/2013/07/movie-review-frozen-ground-2013.html



__________________

"When you think about magic, it is imagination plus willpower focused in such a way that you can create a conscious effect in the material world..."

Nicolas Cage




NIColicious Enchantress

Status: Offline
Posts: 5669
Date: 6:03 PM, 08/25/13
RE: Another 'The Frozen Ground' - Review
Permalink  
 


Another movie-review:

http://www.shockya.com/news/2013/08/24/the-frozen-ground-movie-review/



__________________

"When you think about magic, it is imagination plus willpower focused in such a way that you can create a conscious effect in the material world..."

Nicolas Cage




Nic Warrior

Status: Offline
Posts: 202
Date: 6:12 PM, 08/25/13
RE: Another 'The Frozen Ground' - Review
Permalink  
 


Since it is not showing anywhere in Chicago, I saw it on Video on Demand.  It was fabulous.  Loved the interogation scene with Nick and John.  Especially the second one.  I wanted to see it on the big screen, but saw it on the little one.  I am just happy I saw it.  Now I am waiting to own it.

Royaltraveler



__________________

Royaltraveler

Page 1 of 1  sorted by
Quick Reply

Please log in to post quick replies.

Tweet this page
Post to Digg Post to Del.icio.us


Create your own FREE Forum
Report Abuse
Powered by ActiveBoard