Members Login
Username 
 
Password 
    Remember Me  
Post Info TOPIC: The Frozen Ground review


Cage Defender

Status: Offline
Posts: 778
Date: 2:58 PM, 08/08/13
The Frozen Ground review
Permalink  
 


I'm not going to do an in depth plot summary because most reviews I read are 3/4 about the plot. However I'll sum it up. Nicolas Cage plays Jack Halcombe and it's up to him and the Alaskan police department with the help of Cindy Paulson, played by Hudgens, to catch Robert Hansen who is played by John Cusack.

Positives

Acting

To start with I'm going to talk about the acting. All three of the main cast give great performances, nothing mind blowing but they're all solid performances that don't dip in quality. Nicolas Cage and John Cusack deliver wonderfully and its just a joy to watch them do what they do. As many other reviewers have said, Vanessa Hudgens has come a long way from her High School Musical days and is showing real talent, she did very well- which is probably the biggest surprise, some might not even know its her! 

Writing

Again, nothing mind blowing but it gets the job done, it highlights the important scenarios and treats the real events very well, allowing characters the breath and develop while also delivering scenes of pure tension as Halcombe desperately tries to find Cindy or Hansen stalks his pray or worse. The interview scenes between Cage and Cusack can get quite heated and leave you on the edge of your seat. As does most of the movie, it's an edge of your seat thriller and it succeeds. However, the ending sort of came out of nowhere and I was honestly surprised when it ended, but it's in no way bad. 

The director

He needs a special mention. For a first time director, he picked a pretty hefty topic. A topic I still question why he chose. As a first time director, let alone for an established director, any number of things could have gone wrong with such an important issue like this. However, if the quality of his content is THIS good on his debut. Then there's no telling where he could go. 

Negatives:

The cinematography/ visuals

This is where the negatives start to seep through. While I think the visuals are amazing beautiful at times, the cinematography wasn't the greatest. A film can look brilliant but if the camera never sits still for you to see it, then you can't appreciate all the effort that was put into it. That's not to say its terrible. It wobbles a bit when there's a chase scene or when characters are walking, I can see why it's done, it's done to make it seem like you're there with them and increases tension and that makes sense, but when they're sitting down at a table and the camera is either moving a little or obstructing someone's face or not even showing it, then there's an issue. For example in one of the interviews between Cage and Hudgens her face is hardly showing because its blocked by more then half of black space. It's not as bad as I'm making it out to be and it won't ruin the movie buts it's noticeable to be annoying. To be honest, the camera is like a friends bad habit, when you notice it the first time it's all you can see but after a time you get used to it again. It gets better pretty quickly but it's not perfect. However, the visuals are great and when it's not shaking around, it looks very nice. Some of the long shots of Alaska look great.

The music 

Again, not the greatest but it won't ruin the movie. It was fun while I listened to it during the movie but nothing memorable. If the music and the camera are the only negatives I can think of, then the movie must be good. However, I'm sure to change my mind when it comes out on iTunes n I buy it and listen to the main theme hundreds of times, that's what usually happens. Actually, the irony of this is that while I was writing this section, one of the films little jingles popped into my head. I still stand by what I said, however. Music isn't usually a topic covered in my reviews but this movie was a hard movie to find negative in, so I had to say something.

Improvements:

I don't normally do this in my reviews but I feel that the cinematography could have had a little work. It needed to stabilise. The film was supposed to come out November 31st 2012 and it's been pushed back to July 19th 2013 in the UK and August 23 in America and a film getting delayed is never usually a good thing but sometimes it is and in this case, it was, but I have to ask, what was going on in that time? 

The verdict:

This movie honestly surprised me. Brilliant debut by a first time director with a cast who know what're they doing and very successful. Even with how dark the film is, it's just a pleasure to sit there and watch it. starrystarrystarrystarry

 

(This is quite a bit different to my usual movie reviews and I don't usually write them this way, anyway, I hope you like it)



-- Edited by Enzo on Friday 9th of August 2013 11:02:34 AM

__________________



NIColicious Enchantress

Status: Offline
Posts: 5669
Date: 7:54 PM, 08/08/13
RE: The Frozen Ground
Permalink  
 


It`s an unusual but unique way of writing a review! I enjoyed, reading it! Thanks for writing and posting it, Enzo!smile



__________________

"When you think about magic, it is imagination plus willpower focused in such a way that you can create a conscious effect in the material world..."

Nicolas Cage




Cage Defender

Status: Offline
Posts: 778
Date: 8:32 PM, 08/08/13
RE: The Frozen Ground
Permalink  
 


Lady Roxanne wrote:

It`s an unusual but unique way of writing a review! I enjoyed, reading it! Thanks for writing and posting it, Enzo!smile


Ive never written a movie review like this before! It's so odd. Glad you liked it. smile



__________________



Nicalicious

Status: Offline
Posts: 6722
Date: 1:48 PM, 08/09/13
RE: The Frozen Ground review
Permalink  
 


starsstarrystarrystarrystarrystars

I  like it very much, Enzo, bravo! I like the way you divided it into categories, makes it different and interesting, also I might be more mindful of those things as I watch it, so I can post my responses to your comments. 4 stars, pretty good points! The director must be feeling pleased with the positive responses to his movie, too.

 



__________________

Nicolas Cage is my Shaman!
 





Cage Defender

Status: Offline
Posts: 778
Date: 8:29 PM, 08/11/13
RE: The Frozen Ground review
Permalink  
 


Lady Trueheart wrote:

starsstarrystarrystarrystarrystars

I  like it very much, Enzo, bravo! I like the way you divided it into categories, makes it different and interesting, also I might be more mindful of those things as I watch it, so I can post my responses to your comments. 4 stars, pretty good points! The director must be feeling pleased with the positive responses to his movie, too.

 


 

Thank you! That was very kind smile I hope I didn't ruin the movie experience for you! Yeah, I'm sure he's happy. Successful debut! bowsmiley



__________________



Nic Superfan

Status: Offline
Posts: 199
Date: 1:12 PM, 08/23/13
RE: The Frozen Ground review
Permalink  
 


Great review Enzo and I agree! I wouldve liked another twenty minutes or so too, think it could have easily had that. The camera is distracting at times, guess to capture the docu-drama feel. A great film on the whole- thought Hudgens was amazing.Looking forward to the dvd!

__________________

 

Lets ride!!



Cage Defender

Status: Offline
Posts: 778
Date: 3:43 PM, 08/23/13
RE: The Frozen Ground review
Permalink  
 


Thank you for reading smile and yes aww 20 minutes would have been great. Can't wait to see it again. It comes back to the UK in November biggrin



__________________



Nic Superfan

Status: Offline
Posts: 199
Date: 5:30 PM, 08/25/13
RE: The Frozen Ground review
Permalink  
 


I do get the feeling quite a bit was cut, which was a shame, I would've liked to seen more of Hansens home life and how he was respected in the community - guess they had to be careful as the last thing they would have wanted to would be to glorify it all .I think a bit of Radha Mitchell was definitely cut and I remember in that early leaked trailer a scene with Cage/Cusack talking in the helicopter, almost with Cusack trying to be a "friend" to him.I am assuming this part is where they went and searched for the bodies after his confession, we see a little of this at the end but without the dialogue .I loved it on the whole and can't wait to see it again.i hear its on DVD here till Dec 26th?! Unless that changes , it's the date being given on Amazon.I was def hoping for a pre Xmas release.

__________________

 

Lets ride!!



NIColicious Enchantress

Status: Offline
Posts: 5669
Date: 5:41 PM, 08/25/13
RE: The Frozen Ground review
Permalink  
 


Lucky you, Johnny! Currently we don`t have a release-date here in my country! I hope, that they will make one, soon!

__________________

"When you think about magic, it is imagination plus willpower focused in such a way that you can create a conscious effect in the material world..."

Nicolas Cage




Cage Defender

Status: Offline
Posts: 778
Date: 8:06 PM, 08/25/13
RE: The Frozen Ground review
Permalink  
 


Yes! I remember that from the trailer! Cusak was talking! I thought in the trailer at that point they didn't know he was a killer or something. I thought it was DVD October 1st I do agree with you on all your points. smile



__________________



NIColicious Enchantress

Status: Offline
Posts: 5669
Date: 5:44 PM, 08/26/13
RE: The Frozen Ground review
Permalink  
 


As I recall, the US-release is 1 October and the UK-release is 26 Dec.!

__________________

"When you think about magic, it is imagination plus willpower focused in such a way that you can create a conscious effect in the material world..."

Nicolas Cage




Cage Defender

Status: Offline
Posts: 778
Date: 5:47 PM, 08/26/13
RE: The Frozen Ground review
Permalink  
 


Yeah it is, I looked on amazon.co.uk and its December 26. bleh I'll have to just buy it for my birthday smile



__________________



NIColicious Enchantress

Status: Offline
Posts: 5669
Date: 5:57 PM, 08/26/13
RE: The Frozen Ground review
Permalink  
 


Then, it will be a NICtastic b-day for you!bouncyfrog Did you already pre-ordered it, Enzo?



__________________

"When you think about magic, it is imagination plus willpower focused in such a way that you can create a conscious effect in the material world..."

Nicolas Cage




Cage Defender

Status: Offline
Posts: 778
Date: 6:04 PM, 08/26/13
RE: The Frozen Ground review
Permalink  
 


Of course I did joy



__________________



NIColicious Enchantress

Status: Offline
Posts: 5669
Date: 6:07 PM, 08/26/13
RE: The Frozen Ground review
Permalink  
 


NICe! yellowflowergrin



__________________

"When you think about magic, it is imagination plus willpower focused in such a way that you can create a conscious effect in the material world..."

Nicolas Cage




Nic Superfan

Status: Offline
Posts: 199
Date: 6:36 PM, 08/29/13
RE: The Frozen Ground review
Permalink  
 


Now dec 23rd for the DVD, which makes sense as its a Monday!still thought it would be out earlier considering it was released here first and the US get it Oct 1st! Guess it could change again

__________________

 

Lets ride!!



Cage Defender

Status: Offline
Posts: 778
Date: 6:42 PM, 08/29/13
RE: The Frozen Ground review
Permalink  
 


http://www.cagealotcastle.com/t54797620/new-uk-dvd-release-date/

Atleast we can see it again soon! It will fly by for sure! 



__________________



NIColicious Enchantress

Status: Offline
Posts: 5669
Date: 6:43 PM, 08/29/13
RE: The Frozen Ground review
Permalink  
 


Glad, to hear, that they decided on an earlier release-date for it, Johnny! So, it will be a NICe x-mas-present, then?^^

__________________

"When you think about magic, it is imagination plus willpower focused in such a way that you can create a conscious effect in the material world..."

Nicolas Cage




Cage Defender

Status: Offline
Posts: 778
Date: 6:47 PM, 08/29/13
RE: The Frozen Ground review
Permalink  
 


2 days before! rolllaugh



__________________

Page 1 of 1  sorted by
Quick Reply

Please log in to post quick replies.

Tweet this page
Post to Digg Post to Del.icio.us


Create your own FREE Forum
Report Abuse
Powered by ActiveBoard